Australian Awards for University Teaching - AAUT

AAUT recognise the impact that educators have on learning and teaching experiences and outcomes of university students. The awards were established by the Australian Government in 1997.

Australian Qualifications Framework - AQF

The AQF is the national policy for regulated qualifications in Australian education and training.

CAULLT Professional Recognition and Development Research survey

A comprehensive survey conducted in 2019 and funded by Universities Australia DVC Academic.

General capabilities

Defined in the AQF Review as contemporary, transferable skills (DESE, 2019, p.13).

Graduate Certificate

In Australia, a Graduate Certificate is a short (four subject/unit) postgraduate qualification (AQF level 8).

HERDSA Fellowship Scheme

The HERDSA Fellowship Scheme is for HERDSA members who are academics or leaders and have made a significant personal commitment to the improvement of teaching and learning in a tertiary education context. Fellows may come from a range of positions including: discipline-focused academic, educational developer, student support, or leadership roles.


Massive Open Online Course.

Pasifika Peoples

The distinct group of people who have migrated from the Pacific Islands to Aotearoa/New Zealand.

Technology-enhanced learning - TEL

Interpreted broadly as any learning that occurs through the application of electronic communications and computer-based educational technology, combined with pedagogical principles and practices that are applicable to and tailored for this purpose (TEQSA, 2019b, p.1).

Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency - TEQSA

Australia's independent national quality assurance and regulatory agency for higher education.

Third space professionals

Staff who are employed to support teaching and learning, research management, student services, community engagement, and strategic initiatives.